Nightwing

Nightwing.jpg

I love this guy. This guy right here is Nightwing aka Dick Grayson aka the OG Robin to Bruce Wayne’s Batman. This guy is my favorite D.C. hero and I think he’s actually my favorite hero of all time. I just love this character so much. I love how he grows and develops as a character. Nightwing is complex as well; just like Batman. Both of these characters are flawed people who, in their minds, are doing the right thing. And also he’s hot, so that’s a plus.

Oh my goodness. Where to even begin with this guy. Ok so he’s definitely had it hard in the past. He was a part of Haly’s circus where he and his parents performed regularly as acrobats. Until one day tragedy strikes, and his parents are killed. This is when he is taken under Bruce Wayne’s ‘batwing’. Get it? Cus he’s Batman?…………I think I’m funny.

Anyway, I like this character the best out of all the heroes for several reasons.

He is very “human”. Like I said before, he’s flawed. He has feelings, he cares for people. Hence, why he is in the profession that he’s in. You could say the same for Batman but Batman, for me anyway, is a character that you would have a harder time identifying with. With Nightwing I feel like you can identify more with him. When Batman struggles with something he’ll shut himself off and go take his anger out on some criminals or he’ll just go get drunk. Which is the case for some people (I mean the drunk thing, not the crime fighting thing). When Nightwing is struggling with something you can tell he’s angry because he tends to lash out at people. He’s not a physically unhealthy dude, he’s not really a drinker. But emotionally he struggles because he internalizes everything. In my opinion this more relatable, people get upset and cut themselves off from others or they lash out or both. I’ve done this before, I’m not proud to say, but Dick Grayson is a little more human because of this.

Just to add on to the human thing, he’s high up in the Justice League. He has no powers but he has made it very far. Nightwing is actually one of the most trusted members of the Justice League, a lot of people count on him. I think the fact that Dick Grayson, a human, was chosen to lead the Teen Titans speaks to the kind of person he is and his capabilities. He is a natural leader, albeit the pressure does get to him from time to time; he is incredibly smart and caring. These things make him a good leader. He is very logical but he would never put one of his team members in a position to die in order for the mission to be successful.

He is a lot like Batman. He acts a lot like Batman and he has a lot of the same beliefs as Bruce seeing as Bruce took him in and trained him. Dick hates being compared to Bruce. He says that he doesn’t want to be like him and that he isn’t like him. Nightwing can indeed go dark sometimes. He was in agreement with Bruce when it was revealed that Bruce had taken some extreme measures to combat the members of the Justice League just in case. Also similar to Bruce,Nightwing isn’t afraid to hurt someone’s feelings. There are times when he lashes out, sure. But even when he’s not upset if he has a critique for a person or if he’s just trying to get his point across he’ll be blunt. He will spare no one in that regard. But Nightwing isn’t always Mr. Serious like Bruce is. Nightwing knows how to have fun and joke around. This can be seen throughout almost of the comics that he’s in. I love him even more for this. He’s an excellent hero and a good person.

Here is link to a blog that does a better job than me explaining Nightwing as a character. I encourage you give it read.

Thank you for reading,

God bless

 

Leave a Reply

